‘Flood’ by Gillian Clarke

When all’s said, and done,
if civilisation drowns
the last colour to go
will be gold –
the light on a glass,
the prow of a gondola,
the name on a rosewood piano
as silence engulfs it.

And first to return
to a waterlogged world,
the rivers slipping out to sea,
the cities steaming,
will be gold,
one dip from Bellini’s brush,
feathers of angels, Cinquecente nativities,
and all that follows.

I think this is a wonderful poem, and a gorgeously beautiful homage to Art in all its forms. It speaks about what might be our world’s most lasting and essential legacy; “If civilisation drowns”, writes Clarke, “the last colour to go/ will be gold”.

Flood is clearly set in Venice, and we can be sure of that with the expressed notion of civilisation ‘drowning’; it is a commonly-known fact that Venice is sinking and will one day be under water. Of course, there is also the mentioning of the “prow of a gondola”, and the Venetian painter, Bellini, which helps to paint this image of Venice. Italy, with its history of the Roman Empire, and so much enlightenment and brilliant art during the Renaissance, is the ideal symbol for Western civilisation. It is also an obvious religious centre, and I think that amplifies this idea of the holiness of art. Gold is certainly a colour that I connect with Italy.

So, the poem talks about what would be the last thing “to go”, should civilisation be destroyed, and what would be the first thing to “return” if we had to rebuild civilisation from its ashes. Clarke’s answer to both of these questions is simple: “gold”. For me, this gold in the poem represents Art (every form of art: painting, sculpture, poetry, music etc). Man needs Art to express what Keats called “our deep eternal theme”; we have a need to express ourselves and our experience of beauty, truth, and all that is sacred. There seems to be a distinct aura of the sacred surrounding the idea of Art (i.e. the “gold”) in the poem, hence the references to the “feathers of angels” and the “Cinquecente nativities”.

I just love this piece. It reminds me of what a glorious thing Art can be.

Miracle at the bridge of San Lorenzo, by Bellini (c. 1500)

Miracle at the bridge of San Lorenzo, by Bellini (c. 1500)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alexraphael
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 16:38:40

    I really like your site. It’s inspired me to read more poetry and quote it more on my Line of the Day. This is a wonderful poem, especially the opening lines. Your artistic interpretation of it is very perceptive. I actually see the line structure as mirroring the irregular symmetry of waves too.

    Reply

    • emilyardagh
      Oct 18, 2013 @ 16:47:08

      Thank you! I’m so happy to hear that 🙂 I really like your idea about the structure mirroring a wave-like movement, and I agree — that is exactly what it feels like.

      Reply

  2. rhchatlien
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 17:46:49

    Beautiful poem, and your analysis helps me appreciate it even more. It reminds me of the saying Ars longa, vita brevis. “Art is long, life is short.”

    Reply

  3. supernova1c
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 19:58:16

    Hi Emily, I must confess, though always very interested in poetry, I have struggled to understand and interpret them! Your explanations and interpretation help me tremendously, they help me see the beauty in the words. I wanted to say thank you.
    Best regards, James 🙂

    Reply

    • emilyardagh
      Oct 18, 2013 @ 21:46:48

      Hi James, you’re welcome 🙂 I’m so glad that my blogs are appreciated by you and that they help you to understand and interpret the poems. Thank you so much for your comment! Best wishes

      Reply

  4. Lady Fancifull
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 21:50:40

    Ah, and thank you also for the visual artwork as well as the art of words work!

    Reply

Leave a comment